Certification Bodies

With cybercrime increasing, more organizations are looking for mitigation measures to help protect their IP, data and overall business. Cyber Essentials is a set of best practices and standards that are used to help mitigate up to 80% of common internet threats. By obtaining Cyber Essentials (CE) or Cyber Essentials Plus (CE+) certification, you not only obtain more knowledge to protect your business, but you also get badging that demonstrates to existing and future customers, as well as supply chain management, that you take your cybersecurity seriously.

To obtain your certification you must successfully complete the process using The Cyber Highway and then work with a Certification Body to audit your work. Cyber Essentials (basic) certification requires online audit by the Certification Body, whereas Cyber Essentials + requires an audit and onsite visit for verification.

Did you know
45% of businesses identified that cyberattacks had increased over a year ago. ICTC, Aug 2016

What are Certification Bodies?

Certification Bodies are made up of companies that have successfully completed the Cyber Essentials Plus Certification process. Their role is to create and maintain high standards within the technical information security industry, and to drive a consistency of quality across its member organizations.

Any organization that is leveraging Cyber Essentials Canada services can therefore rest assured that Cyber Essentials Certification Bodies have:

  • Demonstrated appropriate levels of quality assurance processes, security controls, security assessment methodologies and met additional qualification criteria;
  • Signed a Code of Conduct;
  • Proven access to technically competent and qualified staff; and
  • Committed to abiding to the requirements of Certification Bodies for Cyber Essentials.

Certification Bodies

In Canada, the following companies are current and active.

How to Become a Certification Body

A Certification Body is a company that has successfully completed the rigorous CE accreditation process. This qualifies Certification Bodies to assess other organizations against the CE Canada Certification. A company can only become a Certification Body if it meets the stringent requirements which include passing the CE+ tests and prove that they have access to one or more individuals that hold the required Cyber Essentials assessors’ qualifications. To qualify, companies need to have:

  • Demonstrated appropriate levels of quality assurance processes, security controls, security assessment methodologies and met additional qualification criteria
  • Signed a Code of Conduct
  • Proven access to technically competent and qualified staff
  • Committed to adhering to the requirements of Certification Bodies for Cyber Essentials.

Organizations that are considering becoming a Certification Body should contact us to start the process. Upon successful accreditation as a Certification Body, an organization will be given access to information covering:

  • Training by the Cyber Essentials Canada Team
  • The tests to be undertaken
  • The content of test reports
  • Guidance on the functionality for some common tools
  • The criteria for granting certification
  • The content of certificates

In addition to the Cyber Essentials certification services, Cyber Essentials Certification Bodies provide a range of services to help organizations better manage their cybersecurity risks. These services may include:

  • Penetration testing
  • Security audit and compliance
  • Security policy
  • Security architecture
  • Cyber security incident response

Did you know?
Big businesses are not the main target for cybercrime. 77% of cybercrime is targeted at small and medium enterprise.

To learn more about CyberNB, Cyber Essentials or how to become a Certification BodyContact Us

Looking for more information on Certification and Cybersecurity Updates?

Organismes de certification

Les crimes informatiques étant à la hausse, de plus en plus d’organismes cherchent à mettre en place des mesures d’atténuation pour protéger leur adresse IP, leurs données et l’ensemble de leurs activités. Cyber Essentials est un ensemble de pratiques exemplaires et de normes utilisées pour atténuer jusqu’à 80 % des menaces courantes sur Internet. En obtenant votre certification Cyber Essentials (CE) ou Cyber Essentials Plus (CE+), non seulement vous approfondissez vos connaissances afin de protéger votre organisme, mais vous obtenez un badge démontrant aux actuels et futurs clients, ainsi qu’à la direction de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, que vous prenez votre cybersécurité au sérieux.

Pour obtenir votre certification, vous devez terminer avec succès The Cyber Highway (lien vers thecyberhighway.ca), puis collaborer avec un organisme de certification afin que ce dernier effectue une vérification de votre travail. La certification Cyber Essentials (Basic) exige qu’une vérification en ligne soit effectuée par l’organisme de certification, alors que la certification Cyber Essentials + exige une vérification en ligne et sur les lieux.

 

Le saviez-vous?

45 % des entreprises disent avoir constaté une augmentation du nombre de cyberattaques il y a plus d’un an. Conseil des technologies de l’information et des communications, août 2016

Qu’est-ce qu’un organisme de certification?

Un organisme de certification est composé de représentants d’entreprises qui ont terminé avec succès le processus de certification Cyber Essentials +. Leur rôle consiste à élaborer et à maintenir des normes élevées dans l’industrie de la sécurité de l’information technique, de même qu’à assurer une qualité uniforme chez leurs organismes membres.

Tout organisme qui tire parti des services de Cyber Essentials peut ainsi être certain que les organismes de certification de Cyber Essentials :

  • ont démontré des niveaux appropriés en matière de processus d’assurance de la qualité, de contrôles de sécurité et de méthodes d’évaluation de la sécurité, et répondu à d’autres critères d’admissibilité;
  • ont signé un code de conduite;
  • ont prouvé qu’ils ont accès à un personnel technique compétent et qualifié;
  • se sont engagés à respecter les exigences des organismes de certification pour ce qui est de Cyber Essentials.

Organismes de certification

Au Canada, les entreprises suivantes sont actuellement en activité :

Comment devenir un organisme de certification?

Un organisme de certification est une entreprise qui a déjà été accréditée à la suite du processus d’accréditation et qui est autorisée à évaluer et à certifier des organismes dans le cadre du programme Cyber Essentials du Canada. Une entreprise peut seulement devenir un organisme de certification si elle répond aux exigences rigoureuses, qui comprennent la réussite des tests CE+, et si elle prouve qu’elle a accès à au moins une personne qui possède les compétences nécessaires pour être un évaluateur de Cyber Essentials. Pour être admissibles, les entreprises doivent faire ce qui suit :

  • démontrer des niveaux appropriés en matière de processus d’assurance de la qualité, de contrôles de sécurité et de méthodes d’évaluation de la sécurité, et répondre à d’autres critères d’admissibilités;
  • signer un code de conduite;
  • prouver qu’elles ont accès à un personnel technique compétent et qualifié;
  • s’engager à respecter les exigences des organismes de certification en ce qui concerne Cyber Essentials.

Les organismes qui envisagent de devenir un organisme de certification doivent communiquer avec nous afin d’entamer le processus qui débute par la signature d’une entente de confidentialité. Lorsqu’un organisme est accrédité à titre d’organisme de certification, il aura accès à de l’information sur les sujets suivants :

  • les essais à effectuer;
  • le contenu des rapports d’essais;
  • les conseils à suivre quant au fonctionnement de certains outils communs;
  • les critères pour obtenir la certification;
  • le contenu des certificats.

En plus de fournir des services de certification Cyber Essentials, les organismes qui possèdent cette certification offrent toute une gamme de services visant à aider les organisations à mieux gérer leurs risques liés à la cybersécurité. Ces services peuvent comprendre les suivants :

  • Essai de pénétration
  • Vérification et conformité en matière de sécurité
  • Politique de sécurité
  • Architecture de sécurité
  • Intervention en cas d’incident cybernétique

Le saviez-vous?

Les grandes entreprises ne sont pas la principale cible de la cybercriminalité. 77 % des incidents de cybercriminalité visent des petites et moyennes entreprises.

Pour en apprendre plus sur CyberNB, Cyber Essentials ou les modalités pour devenir un organisme de certificationveuillez communiquer avec nous

Vous cherchez plus d'informations sur les mises à jour de certification et de cybersécurité?